Innovation Project

Hello people and beings who live in other places in the vast darkness of space!Here is a blog post about it explained by me Phoebe 14! Me and my classmates were asked to make a cardboard medieval castle with a working drawbridge with a gear system and a pulley system. I will start in 3, 2, 1!

What is a castle

Castles are made for special people like Kings or Queens. It is different than a fortress which is for wars.The oldest castle did not look like the ones we know today. They just looked like a  bunch of thatched roofed houses with a fence and a moat around it; They were called Motte and bailey castles  but, they were not very resistant to fire. So they switched to stone castles which could withstand more wars and fires. Also in that time there were not a lot of rooms in the castles there was normally about 6 rooms which include the kitchen, the great hall, the queens bedroom, the children’s bedroom, the kings bedroom, and the Lords bedroom. There were no bathrooms the royals did there business in the moat or in the streets. And servants slept on the floor of the great hall or the kitchen, which does not seem very comfy. Most castles would have a drawbridge which is a door that lets people in but, keeps the stuff that you don’t want in, out. So that is what a castle is.

Motte and bailey castles

 

Lords vs Serfs

When you were born from a lord and a lady you had a more privileged life. You got nice cloths, nice house,and servants you could also be the lucky few who learn how to read and write. If you were a lord you would also own a lot of land. Like the forests that lived near you, and even whole towns! On the other hand if you were born as a serf you would not be as lucky. You worked on farms, mines, in the forests, and in a factory sewing. You had the least power, you were controlled by lords, and lived in simple houses made of wood, and mud the worst part was that you had a thatched roof which can’t withstand bad weather.


The feudal system

Please see my blog about pulleys

Some pictures of me building my castle and pulley system:


Me learning about pulleys

Painting my castle

My final product

 

Results:

Self reflection Conclusion

My gear system did not work because my pulley system is fragile and the gear did not fit well in my pulley system.  Also I struggled to find a good stand for my pulley system. I used a fixed pulley system because we don’t need the drawbridge to go side to side, we need it to go up and down. If I would do this again I would change the way that the drawbridge goes up. So, that I can learn more about gears and pulleys.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *